Clinical Investigators

Membership in the SNRI is organized into categories of investigators: primary, clinical, associate, and affiliate. Clinical investigator status requires a full time, tenure-track appointment at Indiana University School of Medicine and an actively funded clinical neuroscience research program. While clinical investigators often have active basic neuroscience research programs, their primary research involves human subjects. In addition to research, clinical investigators are expected to participate in teaching and clinical training missions of the IUSM as appropriate.


Nicholas M. Barbaro, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Betsey Barton Professor and Chair of Neurosurgery;
Medical Director, IU Health Neurosciences Center

Eric Horn, M.D., Ph.D.

Director of Spinal Neurosurgery;
Associate Professor of Neurosurgery

Richard B. Rodgers, M.D.

Director of Neurotrauma and Neurocritical Care;
Clinical Assistant Professor, IUSM

Scott A. Shapiro, M.D.

Professor and Chief of Neurosurgery;
Robert L. Campbell Professor of Neurological Surgery


Stark Neurosciences Research Institute | Neuroscience Research Building | 320 West 15th Street | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Phone: (317) 278-5848 | FAX: (317) 231-0203